Chat bot
ChatBot close

Chairman, Governing Council, GMRIT,
Director Education, GMR Varalakshmi Foundation

Dr. Girish J has obtained his Doctoral degree in Civil engineering with a specialization in Structural Engineering from IIT Kharagpur, the country's premier Technological Institute. He has more than 26 years of teaching, research, and industrial experience. Before joining GMRVF, Dr. Girish served as a Vice President in Amity Education Group where he expanded the University’s presence in multiple geographies & streams. He has also served as Director of KIET Group of Institutions, Principal of Gyan Ganga Institute of Technology & Sciences, Principal of BIET Bhimavaram, Professor-Head & Principal at Bapatla Engineering and Bapatla Women's Engineering College.

He has received the Best Teacher Award in the year 1999 at VIT, Vellore, where he was placed as a faculty member. He was instrumental and coordinated the TEQIP project at Bapatla Engineering College, funded by the World Bank and MHRD. He has delivered lectures at prestigious organisations like NSTL (DRDO Ministry of Defence), NTPC and Chaired conference proceedings at NIT Warangal and JNTU Anantapur and Kakinada.

Dr. Girish has several publications in his name in reputed international Journals like ASME Journal of Applied Mechanics, ASCE Journal of Engineering Mechanics, ASCE Journal of Aerospace Engineering, Journal of Sound and Vibration, Journal of Thermal Stresses and Composite Structures.



Alternate Chairman, Governing Council, GMRIT
Principal, GMR Institute of Technology

Dr Prasad began his academic career in 1986. After completion of his M.Tech. from NIT-Warangal, moved from S V H college of Engineering Machilipatnam to Sir C R Reddy College of Engineering, Eluru in 1990, where he served for over fifteen years, and became the professor and head of the Mechanical Engineering department. There played a pivotal role in developing the systems and facilities, creating SOPs and documentations needed for university and statutory compliances and also served as the Principal in-charge subsequently. After receiving his Ph.D degree from Andhra University, Visakhapatnam in 2003, he moved to GMR Institute of Technology in 2005 as Dean, Academic Affairs, and became its Principal in 2008. At GMRIT he established technology enabled teaching and learning environment to supplement the class room learning and students were provided access to the digital learning content for more than 300 courses on campus LAN where all the lectures are made available session wise and made the campus Wi-Fi enabled.

He spearheaded all the IQAC initiatives leading to Accreditation of all the Programs by NBA during 2007. After getting Autonomous status in 2012 initiated the implementation of Outcome Based Education and responsible for getting all the UG programs NBA accredited under Tier-1 (3rd cycle) for Six years. Achieved NAAC accreditation with ‘A’ grade for the three consecutive cycles since 2010.

He has published research articles in several reputed National and International Conferences and Journals. As a Principal investigator, received DST funded research projects worth Rs 1.75 Cr and supervised three research scholars leading to the award of Ph.D degree apart from supervising many PG students for their M. Tech projects. With the financial sponsorship from DST & UGC attended and presented papers at ASME conferences in Canada & USA. Also attended and presented paper at CIRP conferences in Italy. He is a fellow of Institution of Engineers, India, Life Member of ISTE, and Member of ASME & IEEE.

He has been nominated by UGC as an expert committee member to evaluate the institutions for the renewal and fresh award of Autonomous status. Govt. of Andhra Pradesh has nominated him as a member for the 1st Executive Council the apex body of JNTUK- Kakinada, A P for the term 2016-19. A P state council for higher education (APSCHE) has nominated him as a member of Admission Committee, AP PGECET for the period 2018-19. In the year 2021 he has been nominate as an advisory board member for APSCHE-Quality Assurance Cell for three years term. He is also the member of Academic Council of the Autonomous Private Engg colleges viz. LENDI & NSIRT, Visakhapatnam affiliated to JNTUK Kakinada

1. Dr. R. Natarajan, Member nominated by the trust

Former Chairman, All India Council of Technical Education (AICTE)
Former Director, Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Madras

2. Dr.Ligy Philip, Member nominated by the trust

Professor in Civil Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology(IIT), Madras

3. Mr. J. Satyanarayana Murthy

Regional Joint Director, AU Region, RJD Office, Women’s Polytechnic College

4. Dr. B. Satyanarayana, Nominee of AICTE under the category of Industrialist/ Technologist / Educationist

Former Vice-Chancellor, Andhra University, Visakhapatnam

5. Dr. G.Swami Naidu, University Nominee

Professor of Mech JNTU, VZM

6. Dr.D. R. Prasad Raju, Member Nominee of State Govt. under category of Industrialist / Technologist / Educationist

Scientist G-Advisor, Dept. of Science & Technology, New Delhi

7. Dr. Pragya Shukla, Member nominated by the UGC

Dept. of Computer Science, Institute of Engineering & Technology, Indore

8. Dr.E.Sankar Rao, Member nominated by trust
9. Dr.M.V.Nageswara Rao, Faculty Member nominated by trust

Associate Dean-Academic Affairs, GMRIT

10. Dr.A.Venkata Ramana, Faculty Member nominated by trust